Cover your tracks

Are you worried about someone knowing you have visited this website?

Learn how to protect your privacy through these simple steps.

This information is for guidance only and may not completely cover your tracks.

1. Be in a safe place.

The safest way to use the internet privately is to do it in a safe place. This could be a local library, a friend’s house, at school or at work. Be aware of any people around you who might see what you’re doing.

2. Use a private browser.

Use your internet browser in private or incognito mode. This hides your online history from other people who might use the same computer or device. Private browsers do not save your history, including the websites you have visited or any words you have searched.

3. Turn off ‘Save my password’ or ‘Autofill’.

If you log into an account, some websites and internet browsers may automatically save your username and password. Make sure you turn off any ‘Save my password’ or ‘Autofill’ options so that no one else can see your login details.

4. Log out of your online accounts.

Remember to click ‘log out’ when you’re finished using a website, especially when you're on a public or shared device. It is not enough to just close the browser window or type in another web address.

5. Delete your browser history, cookies and cache.

Internet browsers (if not in private mode) will save information about your online activity. This includes a history of the websites you visit, images from these websites, and the words you enter into search engines. You can delete this information by going to your browser’s settings and clearing your history, cookies and cache. Scroll down for steps on how to do this.

6. Close your browser window

When you are finished, close your browser window completely. Do not minimise or leave the window open. Closing the window will make sure you are logged out properly and, if you are using a private browser, that your browsing history is cleared.

How to delete your browser history

Computer

  1. At the top right of the window, click 'More' More

  2. Click 'History' > 'History'.

  3. On the left, click 'Clear browsing data'. A box will appear.

  4. From the drop-down menu, choose the time range for how far back you want to clear your history. To clear everything, choose 'All time'.

  5. Check the boxes next to the information you want to clear.

  6. Click 'Clear data'.

Android phone or tablet

  1. Open the Chrome app Chrome

  2. At the top right, tap 'More' More > 'History'. If your address bar is at the bottom, swipe up on the address bar. Tap 'History' History

  3. Tap 'Clear browsing data'.

  4. Next to 'Time range':

  • To clear a part of your history, choose the dates.

  • To clear everything, tap 'All time'.

  1. Check the box next to 'Browsing history' and any other information you want to delete.

  2. Tap 'Clear data'.

 iPhone or iPad

  1. Open the Chrome app Chrome

  2. At the bottom right, tap 'More'More> 'History' History

  3. At the bottom, tap 'Clear Browsing Data'.

  4. Choose 'Browsing history' and any other information you want to delete.

  5. Tap 'Clear Browsing Data > Clear Browsing Data'.

  6. At the top right, tap 'Done'.

Computer

  1. In Safari, go to 'History' > 'Clear History', then click the pop-up menu.

  2. Choose how far back you want your browsing history cleared.

 iPhone or iPad

  1. Go to your device’s 'Settings'.

  2. Scroll down and tap on 'Safari'.

  3. Scroll down and tap on 'Clear History and Website Data'.

Computer

  1. Click on the menu button Fx89menuButton to open the menu panel.

  2. Click 'History' and select 'Clear Recent History'.

  3. Select the history items that you want to delete.

  4. Click the 'OK' button. The window will close and the items you've selected will be cleared from your history.

Android phone or tablet

  1. Go to the 'History' panel on your home screen.

  2. Tap on 'Clear browsing history' at the bottom of the History panel.

  3. Tap 'OK' to confirm.

iPhone or iPad

  1. Tap the menu button Fx89menuButton

  2. Select 'History' from the bottom panel to see your visited sites.

  3. Tap 'Clear Recent History'.

  1. Go to 'Settings and more' > 'Settings' > 'Privacy, search, and services'.

  2. Under 'Clear browsing data', click 'Choose what to clear'.

  3. Choose a time range from the 'Time range' drop-down menu.

  4. Choose what you want to clear.

  5. Click 'Clear now'.